Panels on Pages
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Panels on Pages Forums are dead... Long live the Panels on Pages Forums! Go to forums.panelsonpages.com to rejoin the PoP!ulation and check out PoP! 2.0

You are not connected. Please login or register

Company rules for social networking...

+12
Joshua
shanhain
Mnemosis
Sandman
Indiana Solo
Little_Goblyn
Gojiratoho
AKA Brandon
Silent K
Spaced4SimonPegg
Kupocat
darth__frodo
16 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Company rules for social networking... Empty Company rules for social networking... Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:17 am

darth__frodo

darth__frodo
Cannon Fodder
Cannon Fodder

I'm just curious, does anyone's company have a "social networking policy" enforced? I just had this pulled on me today and was told I have to delete all the employees who are my friends on Facebook, Myspace, Twitter, etc. One of those employees is my brother! I was told that as a manager I'm not allowed to talk to them online ever or see them outside of work. I laughed and said, "So I can't see my brother at family gatherings?" and the manager replied, "Well, it's actually against company policy that we hired your brother in the first place." WTF?!! She never answered my question about seeing my brother outside of work so I'm just going to assume that's a loophole since my regional manager okay'd hiring him in the first place when I'm his supervisor.

They said it's okay for the hourly employees to be friends on Facebook and hang out after work but just not the managers. They told us an example (and who knows if it's true or not).. something about a manager was friends with some of the employees but when one sent a friend request to the manager she ignored it and the hourly employee got his feelings hurt and now he's suing the company! What. The. Fuck. They're trying to prevent harassment I guess.

Thoughts, anyone?

Kupocat

Kupocat
Cannon Fodder
Cannon Fodder