Panels on Pages
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Panels on Pages Forums are dead... Long live the Panels on Pages Forums! Go to forums.panelsonpages.com to rejoin the PoP!ulation and check out PoP! 2.0

You are not connected. Please login or register

Screw You, LEARNING!

+6
(._Y_.)
WonderWoman2.0
riv1
Sapphire Gypsy
Silent K
vikoros
10 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Screw You, LEARNING! Empty Screw You, LEARNING! Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:10 pm

vikoros

vikoros
Ninja
Ninja

I just got out of a meeting with the Director of the MFA program for Creative Writing at my University. I finished my Master's of Arts last year in Creative Writing, but I wasn't thrilled about how few doors it opened for me. Also, I'd like to have a "terminal" degree so that I can teach on the university level.

I write Fantasy. It's what I love. It's what I love to read and it - better than all other types of literature, I feel - best represents the dreaming nature of reading and the sub-creator that is the writer.

In this meeting I was told that the most important part of my application would be a 2 page summation of my reading history for the past year. In the director's description of the summary, she mentioned that she wanted to make sure I wasn't just reading "trash." I immediately knew what she meant by that, but still I hoped for the best.

When she asked me what I wanted to write, I told her Fantasy. I told her that I found it inspirational, that I loved the larger-than-life qualities, and that I felt it took issues and emotions from our own world and put them into something larger and more magnificent.

She listened to me with a smile. As soon as I finished, she told me that I probably wouldn't be able to write Fantasy for the program (though she did say some Thesis Advisers might allow it) and that I should probably try writing "real literature."